Wednesday, November 5, 2008

Other MLS Awards

New England Revolution defender Michael Parkhurst was named the winner of the MLS Fair Play award, and the Revolution earned the MLS Team Fair Play award, recognizing the MLS club with the fewest disciplinary points during the 2008 regular season.

Parkhurst is claiming his second consecutive MLS Fair Play Award. The 24 year-old New England Revolution defender from Cranston, R.I., becomes the third player to win the award twice and second to do it in consecutive seasons. Steve Ralston, his Revolution teammate, won the award in consecutive years in 1999 and 2000. Mark Chung is the other two-time winner.

Parkhurst was a pillar at center back for the Revolution again in 2008. He started 28 games for the Revolution, ranked second on the team, behind Jay Heaps, in minutes played with 2,520, and committed only nine fouls. For the second consecutive season he did not receive a caution or red card. Parkhurst, the 2007 Visa MLS Defender of the Year, was a member of the 2007 MLS Best XI and is a three-time MLS All-Star.

The New England Revolution claimed the Team Fair Play award for accumulating the fewest disciplinary points (300) of any team during the 2008 regular season. Disciplinary points are assigned as follow: 4 points for each caution received, 10 points for each red card, 0.50 points for each foul committed and a reduction of 15 points for each game that a team completes without receiving any cards or action from the MLS Disciplinary Committee.

No comments: