Thursday, November 27, 2008

Congrats to Houston Dynamo

Got to give a big congrats to the Houston Dynamo for pulling off the must win to reach the Quarterfinal round of the CONCACAF Champions League. Houston defeated CD Luis Angel Firpo of El Salvador Wednesday night at Robertson Stadium.

Brian Ching scored the only goal of the game in the 13th minute. Dwayne De Rosario sent a bending corner kick toward the net, and Ching timed it perfectly, heading a shot toward the top of the goal.

Dynamo will play there next match on Feb. 23, 24 or 25, but will not know there next opponent Until Dec. 10

It was a sloppy, hard-fought match that featured eight yellow cards and two red cards. Dynamo had the better of the chances in the first half and Firpo stepped it up in the second half. Corey Ashe was very dangerous on the left side serving many crosses into the box.

Nate Jaqua had a good chance in the 35th minute to give Houston a 2-0 lead, but he could not pull the trigger when he had possession at the top of the box.

Corey Ashe nearly gave Houston a 2-0 lead in the 40th minute when a tough-angle shot on the far side edge of the box, and De Rosario had a good look in stoppage time, but his laser from 25 feet out was easily swallowed by Gomez.

Jaqua's Houston career officially came to an end in the 68th minute when he was replaced by Kei Kamara. Jaqua was drafted earlier by Seattle in the Expansion Draft, Jaqua had four goals and four assists in 14 games with the Dynamo in 2008 after returning to the club from Austria.

Scoring Summary:
HOU -- Brian Ching 1 (Dwayne De Rosario ) 13

CD Luis Angel Firpo -- Juan Jose Gomez, Emerson Veliz (Carlos Calderon 83), Salvador Morales, Manuel Salazar, Carlos Monteagudo, Jorge Sanchez, Dennis Alas, Leonardo Pekarnik, Christian Sanchez (Francisco Medrano 46), Patricio Gomez, Fernando Leguizamon.

Substitutes Not Used: Henry Hernandez, Ricardo Orellana, Mauricio Quintanilla

Houston Dynamo -- Pat Onstad, Craig Waibel, Bobby Boswell, Eddie Robinson, Mike Chabala, Brian Mullan, Ricardo Clark, Dwayne De Rosario (Richard Mulrooney 81), Corey Ashe, Brian Ching (Patrick Ianni 85), Nate Jaqua (Kei Kamara 68).

Substitutes Not Used: Wade Barrett, Chris Wondolowski, Tony Caig, John Michael Hayden

No comments: